Oryx and Crake

YA F Atw

browse shelf >>

Oryx and Crake : a novel

Atwood, Margaret, 1939- http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/n79102766 http://isni.org/isni/0000000123215491.

New York : Nan A. Talese, 2003.

376 pages ; 25 cm.

Rate this title or write a review

A stunning and provocative new novel by the internationally celebrated author of The Blind Assassin , winner of the Booker Prize

Margaret Atwood's new novel is so utterly compelling, so prescient, so relevant, so terrifyingly-all-too-likely-to-be-true, that readers may find their view of the world forever changed after reading it.

This is Margaret Atwood at the absolute peak of her powers. For readers of Oryx and Crake , nothing will ever look the same again.

The narrator of Atwood's riveting novel calls himself Snowman. When the story opens, he is sleeping in a tree, wearing an old bedsheet, mourning the loss of his beloved Oryx and his best friend Crake, and slowly starving to death. He searches for supplies in a wasteland where insects proliferate and pigoons and wolvogs ravage the pleeblands, where ordinary people once lived, and the Compounds that sheltered the extraordinary. As he tries to piece together what has taken place, the narrative shifts to decades earlier. How did everything fall apart so quickly? Why is he left with nothing but his haunting memories? Alone except for the green-eyed Children of Crake, who think of him as a kind of monster, he explores the answers to these questions in the double journey he takes - into his own past, and back to Crake's high-tech bubble-dome, where the Paradice Project unfolded and the world came to grief.

With breathtaking command of her shocking material, and with her customary sharp wit and dark humour, Atwood projects us into an outlandish yet wholly believable realm populated by characters who will continue to inhabit our dreams long after the last chapter. This is Margaret Atwood at the absolute peak of her powers.


From the Hardcover edition.

Available

Young AdultYoung Adult

1 copy available at Innovation Academy Charter School

ISBN:

978-0-385-50385-3

LC Call No:

PR9199.3.A8 O79 2003

Author:

Atwood, Margaret, 1939- http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/n79102766 http://isni.org/isni/0000000123215491.

Title:

Oryx and Crake : a novel / Margaret Atwood.

Edition:

1st ed. in the U.S.

Publisher:

New York : Nan A. Talese, 2003.

Physical:

376 pages ; 25 cm.

ContentType:

text txt rdacontent.

MediaType:

unmediated n rdamedia.

CarrierType:

volume nc rdacarrier.

Subject:

Triangles (Interpersonal relations)--Fiction.

Subject:

Genetic engineering--Fiction.

Subject:

Male friendship--Fiction.

Field Ind Subfield Data
001 Control No     10548
005 LastTransaction     20201222133329.0
008 Data Elements     021007s2003 nyu 000 1 eng
010 LCCN   $a Record content licensor  2002073290
020 ISBN   $a ISBN  978-0-385-50385-3
035 System Ctrl No   $a System control number  (OCoLC)50774561
040 Cataloging Src   $a Original cataloging agency  DLC
    $c Transcribing agency  DLC
043 GAC   $a Geographic area code  n-us-ny
050 LC Call No 00  $a Classification number  PR9199.3.A8
    $b Item number  O79 2003
100 ME:PersonalName 1   $a Personal name  Atwood, Margaret,
    $d Dates associated with a name  1939-
    $0   http://id.loc.gov/authorities/names/n79102766
    $1   http://isni.org/isni/0000000123215491.
245 Title 10  $a Title  Oryx and Crake :
    $b Remainder of title  a novel /
    $c Statement of responsibility  Margaret Atwood.
250 Edition   $a Edition statement  1st ed. in the U.S.
260 PublicationInfo   $a Place of publication, dist.  New York :
    $b Name of publisher, dist, etc  Nan A. Talese,
    $c Date of publication, dist, etc  2003.
300 Physical Desc   $a Extent  376 pages ;
    $c Dimensions  25 cm.
336 ContentType   $a Content type term  text
    $b Content type code  txt
    $2 Source  rdacontent.
337 MediaType   $a Media type term  unmediated
    $b Media type code  n
    $2 Source  rdamedia.
338 CarrierType   $a Carrier type term  volume
    $b Carrier type code  nc
    $2 Source  rdacarrier.
650 Subj:Topic $a Topical term  Triangles (Interpersonal relations)
    $v Form subdivision  Fiction.
    $0   http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh2008112615.
650 Subj:Topic $a Topical term  Genetic engineering
    $v Form subdivision  Fiction.
    $0   http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh2008105122.
650 Subj:Topic $a Topical term  Male friendship
    $v Form subdivision  Fiction.
    $0   http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh2008107166.
651 Subj:Geog $a Geographic name  New York (State)
    $v Form subdivision  Fiction.
    $0   http://id.loc.gov/authorities/subjects/sh2008108411.
655 IT:Genre $a Genre/form data or focus term  Science fiction.
    $2 Source of term  gsafd.
655 IT:Genre $a Genre/form data or focus term  Love stories.
    $2 Source of term  gsafd.
655 IT:Genre $a Genre/form data or focus term  Dystopias.
    $2 Source of term  gsafd.
852 Holdings   $a Location  MMCPS
    $h Classification part  YA F Atw
    $p Barcode  30001000280505
    $9 Cost  $0.00

Editorial Reviews

Google Books Preview

preview